Skip to content

Festival calendar 2022

With so many different festivals taking place across India, it can be hard to keep track of them all. But with this handy festival calendar, you'll never miss a beat! From music festivals to art festivals to religious festivals, there's something for everyone on this list. So whether you're looking for a new experience or just want to check out a local event or is in search of a personalized gift, be sure to consult this calendar before making your plans.
January
New year
Saturday, January 1, 2022
Lohri
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Makara Sankranti
Friday, January 14, 2022
Pongal
Friday, January 14, 2022
Republic day
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
February
Valentines day
Monday, February 14, 2022
Saraswathi pooja
Saturday, February 5, 2022
March
International women's day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Maha Shivaratri
Friday, March 11, 2022
Holi
Friday, March 18, 2022
April
Easter
Sunday, April 17, 2022
World health day
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Ugadi
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Vishu
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Tamil new year
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Earth day
Friday, April 22, 2022
May
International workers day
Sunday, May 1, 2022
World laughter day
Sunday, May 1, 2022
Mothers day
Sunday, May 8, 2022
Eid al-Fitr
Sunday, May 1, 2022
June
World environment day
Sunday, June 5, 2022
Fathers day
Sunday, June 19, 2022
International yoga day
Tuesday, June 21, 2022
July
Bakrid
Saturday, July 9, 2022
August
Friendship day
Sunday, August 7, 2022
Independence day
Monday, August 15, 2022
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday, August 11, 2022
Ganesh Chathurthi
Wednesday, August 31, 2022
September
Onam
Saturday, September 10, 2022
Teachers day
Monday, September 5, 2022
Engineers day
Thursday, September 15, 2022
October
Gandhi Jayanthi
Sunday, October 2, 2022
Beer festival
Tuesday, October 11, 2022
Durga Ashtami
Monday, October 3, 2022
Maha Navami
Tuesday, October 4, 2022
Dussehra
Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Boss day
Sunday, October 16, 2022
Halloween
Monday, October 31, 2022
Diwali
Monday, October 24, 2022
November
Childrens day
Monday, November 14, 2022
December
Christmas
Sunday, December 25, 2022

India's Festive Calendar: The Ultimate Guide to India's Best Festivals

Welcome to our guide to India's Festive Calendar! Here, you'll find information on all of the biggest and most important festivals in India.

Each festival is unique and offers a different experience, so we've outlined all the key details you need to know. This includes the dates of the festival, its significance, and what you can expect to see and do.

So whether you're planning a trip to India or just want to know more about the country's diverse culture, we hope this guide will be helpful.

Happy exploring!

What Are India's Major Festivals?

India is a land of festivals, and every corner of the country celebrates something different. There's no way to capture all of India's festivals in one article, but we'll give you a taste of some of the biggest and most popular ones.

Diwali is the Festival of Lights, and it's celebrated all over India in November. Families get together to celebrate, and there are fireworks and lots of food. Holi is the Festival of Colors, and it's in March. People throw colored powder and water at each other to celebrate the arrival of spring.

In the south, they celebrate Ganesh Chaturthi in August, which is when people bring home statues of Ganesh, the elephant-headed god, and pray for his blessing. And in October, there's Durga Puja, which honors the goddess Durga. People build elaborate temples to her and celebrate for days on end.

These are just a few of India's major festivals—there are many more that we could mention. So if you're planning on traveling to India anytime soon, be sure to check out the calendar and see when the nearest festival is happening!

What Are the Dates for India's Festivals?

So, when are all of India's festivals? Glad you asked. Here's a comprehensive list of all the best festivals and their dates.

1. Pongal - January 14th-16th

2. Lohri - January 13th

3. Makar Sankranti - January 14th

4. Maha Shivaratri - March 4th

5. Holi - March 2nd-3rd

6. Ram Navami - April 5th

7. Hanuman Jayanti - April 16th

8. Baisakhi - April 14th

9. Buddha Purnima - May 21st

10. Rath Yatra - June 25th

11. Janmashtami - August 24th

12. Ganesh Chaturthi - September 5th-13th

13. Durga Puja - October 19th-23rd

14. Diwali - October 27th-30th

15. Bhai Dooj - November 10th

What Are the Customs Associated With India's Festivals?

Each festival in India is accompanied by its own set of customs and traditions. Depending on the festival, these can vary from region to region. But there are a few customs that are common to almost all Indian festivals.

One of the most important is prayer. Whether it's done at home or in a temple, prayer is an essential part of any festival in India. People also often wear new clothes specifically for the occasion, and exchange gifts with friends and family.

Many festivals also involve a lot of food! People will often prepare special dishes for their friends and families to enjoy, and there's always plenty of sweets to go around. Dancing and music are also common sights at Indian festivals, as are colorful decorations.

What Are the Best Places to Celebrate India's Festivals?

Well, you might be wondering what the best places are to celebrate India's festivals. And we're here to help!

There are all sorts of amazing places to check out during festival season. For example, there's the Kumbh Mela, which is the largest religious gathering in the world. It happens every 12 years and takes place at four different locations: Allahabad, Haridwar, Ujjain, and Nashik.

If you're looking for something a little more high-energy, you might want to check out the Thaipusam Festival in Penang. This Hindu festival is all about celebrating Lord Murugan, and culminates in a procession where participants carry elaborate kavadis (sacred vessels). It's a truly incredible sight to behold!

No matter what your taste, we're sure you'll find a festival that's just right for you. So get ready to experience some of the most vibrant and joyous celebrations India has to offer!

How Can I Make the Most of India's Festivals?

Here's the thing about India's festivals: if you want to make the most of them, you need to plan ahead. A lot of the big festivals are celebrated in specific towns and villages, so you need to book your accommodation and transportation well in advance.

Some of the best-known festivals are Diwali, Holi, and the Ganesh Chaturthi festival. But there are also loads of lesser-known ones that are worth checking out too. The important thing is to do your research and figure out which ones match with your interests.

One great way to experience India's festivals is to join in on the celebrations. This can be a bit daunting if you're not used to Indian culture, but it's definitely a memorable experience. If you're not feeling up for it, you can always watch from the sidelines—either way, you're sure to have a good time.